HOUSESITTING

We are a responsible, tidy and proactive Dutch couple (41 & 42), happy to look after your place and animals as if they were our own.

A bit about us: we are both quite handy, creative, social and outdoorsy. Tom had his own successful business in Utrecht, making sustainable products from local wood. Hiljanne develops activities and exhibitions for science museums. We love hiking, cycling and campervan life. And although we don’t have our own, we grew up surrounded by pets (cats, dogs, rats, guinea pigs, lizards) and have enjoyed looking after them while housesitting in the Netherlands, France, Spain, New Zealand, Australia and Aruba over the last few years.

While the Netherlands is still our base, we have lived in New Zealand for a few years and are currently on a long-term trip around the world. We love travelling and in the past we have been on long trips through Canada, South East Asia, Eastern Europe. Late 2021 we left home to hike Te Araroa trail in New Zealand. We loved the outdoors life so much that we decided to keep on travelling for a bit longer. We first explored New Zealand further by bicycle and campervan, before heading over to Australia for a roadtrip through South and Western Australia. After a visit to the Netherlands in 2023, we continued our adventure in South America, where we backpacked and hiked through Argentina, Chile, Bolivia and Peru.

Currently we’re housesitting on Aruba, to have a bit of a break from our travels, visit friends and enjoy the island life. And to make plans for our next adventure: more road tripping and hiking, along the Westcoast of the USA.



REVIEWS:

We were very pleased to have Tom and Hiljanne. They are so friendly and sociable. They are tidy, hardworking and very caring for our pets. And as a bonus, they even cooked us a lovely meal when we arrived back home. We will certainly stay in touch with them.

Wim & Sigrid

Spain – Pinoso, Nov 2023 – 2 weeks – 1 dog, 1 cat


Very friendly couple. Good communication and made appointments, kept us informed during our absence. Took good care of our dog. Our house was clean and tidy when we came home. Highly recommended as house sitters!

Geert & Ann

France – Vaison-la-Romaine, Oct 2023 – 10 days – 1 dog


In September 2023 Tom and Hiljanne looked after our apartment and two cats. Having them as housesitters was a great experience. They sent us daily updates, and when we arrived back home our house was tidy and clean. We are super happy about how Tom & Hiljanne helped us out!
Thanks so much for looking after our place and even leaving us a chocolate treat.

Demi & Sebas

The Netherlands – Utrecht , Sep 2023 – 10 days – 2 cats


During our time away in the mountains Tom & Hiljanne took great care of our house and our two cats. The fact that they immediately got presents from our cats during the night (toy mice) says it all; they’re trustworthy and reliable! Communicating with Tom & Hiljanne is very clear and easy. It was great to come back after our holidays to a clean and tidy house with two very happy cats. Without any further ado, we highly recommend them for housesitting!

Martin & Saskia

The Netherlands – Utrecht , Aug 2023 – 10 days – 2 cats


These two stars took great care of our home in Utrecht. Tom did us a great favour by putting a compost bin together from scrap wood. Upon our return our house was neat and clean and they left us some yummy homemade granola as a present. And not unimportant: Toms & Hils are very nice people, with humour and great communication skills. Highly recommended.

Karen & Lot

The Netherlands – Utrecht , Aug 2023 – 2 weeks – no pets


We were very happy with Tom & Hiljanne as our housesitters the past few weeks. Because of them our dear pets got the love and care they deserve in our absence. They left our house very nice and clean after their stay, so we felt very welcome when we came back home.
Because of good communicatie with them – up front and during their stay – expectation were were very clear om both sides. We were also very happy with period update pics of our pets. Tom & Hiljanne are welcome any time for more housesitting.

Bianca & Nienke

The Netherlands – Utrecht , Jul 2023 – 3 weeks – 1 cat, 2 rabbits


Couldn’t more highly recommend Tom and Hils, they are so delightful! Respectful of our home, beautiful sitters for our dog, and so easy to communicate with. We would love to have them housesit for us again in the future

Monique

Australia – Perth, Jul 2023 – 8 days – 1 dog
Source: Aussie House Sitters


Tom & Hiljanne were awesome house guests. I was away in a no reception zone and they were able to take care of everything with a breeze. Thanks again you two!

Riley

Australia – Adelaide, Mar 2023 – 4 days – 1 dog
Source: Aussie House Sitters


Tom and Hiljanne were excellent house-sitters. They looked after our dog, birds and garden with attention to detail and left the house very clean and tidy. They were extremely good communicators and kept us up to date with texts and photos of our dog. They are respectful and absolutely trustworthy and we are happy to recommend them for other housesits.

Wendy

Australia – Adelaide, Mar 2023 – 3 days – 1 dog, birds
Source: Aussie House Sitters


 I can not fault Tom and Hiljanne. After a quick meet and greet we headed off and left our house and our 2 cats in their capable hands. We arrived home to a house that was Spick and span, some baking and other bits and bobs. These crazy guys are biking up and down NZ so if you come upon them then 100% I recommend giving them a roof and a bed for a night or so, Lovely people who I look forward to keeping in touch with how their adventures are going. Thanks team, bike safe

Anijka

New Zealand – Tauranga, Dec 2022 – 6 days – 2 cats
Source: Kiwi House Sitters


Tom and Hils were absolutely incredible. Not only did they look after our property and two cats, they handled a couple of problems that came up with no hassle. We came home to an immaculately clean house. They even had washed and cleaned my car and left some homemade treats for us. It has been a pleasure getting know them and they are very welcome at our house anytime. Cheers Hugh

Hugh

New Zealand – Queenstown, Apr 2022 – 7 weeks – 2 cats
Source: Kiwi House Sitters